A WEBINAR ON GLOBAL RESISTANCE TO VEOLIA: Building Communities of Joint Struggle

Standard

To celebrate the release of the Stop Veolia Zine,

Blue Planet Project, Focus on the Global South & Stop Veolia Seattle invite you to:

A WEBINAR ON GLOBAL RESISTANCE TO VEOLIA

Building Communities of Joint Struggle

Veolia has lost billions of dollars thanks to successful campaigns targeting Veolia for its price-gauging of public water supply and its complicity in human rights violations in Palestine. Veolia’s anti-labor practices have also been met with resistance. Yet Veolia continues to low bid and win massive new contracts. How do we continue to organize to build communities of joint struggle to protect local access to water and transportation and secure jobs?

Hear about struggles against Veolia in Asia, the campaigns against Veolia in Detroit and Boston, and the Palestinian victory against Veolia. Join the discussion about building communities of joint struggle.

WHEN: TUESDAY NOVEMBER 24TH at 15:00 UTC-time:
10 am EST, 4 pm in Paris,
7 am Seattle, 11 pm Hong Kong, 5 pm Ramallah.

Featured guests include:

RENA LAU works with Globalization Monitor which is a labour and environmental rights advocacy group based in Hong Kong.

ADRI NIEUWHOF is a human rights advocate based in the Netherlands who has covered the BDS campaign against Veolia extensively for the electronic intifada. Twitter: @steketeh

AISHA MANSOUR is the director of the Dalia Association in Palestine and co-founder of Sharaka – Community Supported Agriculture.

TAWANA HONEYCOMB PETTY is a mother, organizer, poet and author. She is a board member of the James and Grace Lee Boggs Center to Nurture Community Leadership, and a member of Detroiters Resisting Emergency Management, We the People of Detroit and the People’s Water Board Coalition.

ANDRE FRANCOIS is the President of Local 8751. He’s one of the four union leaders who were illegally fired by Veolia in November 2013. All four were voted into leadership again in April 2015, despite Veolia/Transdev attempts to divide the union. Andre is very prominent in the movements for black liberation and Haitian liberation and the Palestine Solidarity movement.

STEVAN KIRSCHBAUM is a 41-year veteran driver, founding organizer and Vice President of USW 8751. He’s one of the four union leaders who were illegally fired by Veolia in November 2013. All four were voted into leadership again in April 2015, despite Veolia/Transdev attempts to divide the union. In March 2015, Stevan successfully defeated Veolia’s anti-union felony frame-up charges against him.

The webinar will be facilitated by MEERA KARUNANANTHAN, Blue Planet Project, MARY ANN MANAHAN, Focus on the Global South, & SUSAN KOPPELMAN, Stop Veolia Seattle.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s